iB iB

ICT and Computing


In Lower Fourth and Upper Forth our curriculum is based on the national curriculum in England for computing at Key Stage 3. This ensures coverage of the three main strands within computing: computer science, information technology and digital literacy.

As students progress through the Fourth Form the syllabus enables students to advance along the Computing Progression Pathways in:

  1. Algorithms
  2. Programming & Development
  3. Data & Data Representation
  4. Hardware & Processing
  5. Communication & Networks
  6. Information Technology

The subject is compulsory for these year groups. All students in the Fourth Form have two lessons a week.

The curriculum provides the necessary framework to go on to study the subject at IGCSE level.



All Lower Fifth students follow a course leading to a BCS Level 1 ECDL Flexi Award. ECDL is an internationally recognised qualification that enables people to certify their computer skills.  Students in Lower Fifth have one lesson per week.

The course covers the basic skills in ICT that are required for use in other school subjects and that are widely used in many workplaces.



We provide a course leading to the Cambridge IGCSE for those students in Middle Fifth and Upper Fifth, who wish to continue their study of this subject. It has the advantage over traditional GCSE of being assessed by terminal examinations, with no 'controlled assessment' requirements. The course content is excellent preparation for further study in the subject and for its application in other subject areas.

Our son has been at King William’s College for two years and has settled in very well with the full support of the boarding staff and teachers, who have demonstrated great kindness and caring. The highly disciplined, but dynamic education system has helped our 15 year old son to adapt well and his confidence has noticeably improved in a short space of time. What's especially pleasing is that not only does the College have an excellent calibre of teaching staff and a strong academic curriculum, but we have been surprised and delighted to discover their excellent music achievements! With such great experience, our second son will also join KWC starting at Lower 5, to have a well rounded education. We cannot be more pleased with our decision to send our sons here all the way from Hong Kong!

M5 Overseas Parent